Supermoon


Last night’s full moon was a spectacular sight, and admired by skywatchers around the world as it lit the night sky. The largest and brightest full moon in 18 years, dubbed “Supermoon” because it is at its closest point as it orbits the Earth. Just at 221,565 miles from Earth, the Supermoon appeared to be 14% larger and 30% brighter than the typical full moon observed by us on Earth.

Photo of "Supermoon" taken by William Sipe for Pro-PhotoShots

©2008-2011 William E. Sipe

Throughout history, the Supermoon has spawned fears of natural disasters, paranormal phenomenon, and the legends that Hollywood brought into mainstream America. Although none of the above are based on fact, the fears of doom date back more than a thousand years. It was once believed that if one stared at the full moon long enough it would cause a person to go crazy, and this is where the word “lunatic” comes from – “Luna” being the Latin word for moon.

“Super Perigee Moon” as it is actually called will not seem to be this close to the Earth again until 2029, so I hope you got to at least see it!

About WilliamSipe

I moved to Baltimore in 1994 to continue my printing career, and to seek out better opportunities. While picking up valuable experience in two different printing companies, I began thinking of starting my own business. My son was born on July 31, 2004, and is a very special child that means the world to me. After a near-fatal accident that left me disabled in 2004 and unable to return to my printing job, I decided to fall back on my passion for photography and graphic design and work for myself. This is when Pro-PhotoShots was born. Deciding to make photo gifts such as t-shirts, mouse pads, tote bags, sportspacks just to name a few, I bought the necessary equipment and went to work. Using my industrial grade quality materials and equipment and my experience in both photography and graphic design, I went public with my website (www.Pro-PhotoShots.com) offering my services to the world! It's been a great experience, and I hope we are still going strong many years from now.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Nature, Weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Supermoon

  1. amcmenamin says:

    Eh? The moon will be this close again next month.

    • WilliamSipe says:

      The “Supermoon” also known as the “Super Perigee Moon” seems to be closer to the Earth every 18 years. Actually, as quoted by NASA Chief Scientist Jim Garvin completely explains the phenomenon on the NASA website at http://www.nasa.gov/topics/moonmars/features/supermoon.html so everyone can check this out on their own.
      As stated in my post, “The largest and brightest full moon in 18 years, dubbed “Supermoon” because it is at its closest point as it orbits the Earth. Just at 221,565 miles from Earth, the Supermoon appeared to be 14% larger and 30% brighter than the typical full moon observed by us on Earth.” This phenomenon occurs every 18 years.

  2. Rose says:

    Damn, how did I miss this?

  3. amcmenamin says:

    sorry for the contretemps.

  4. Pingback: Supermoon and angry dogs | My little bubble

Leave a Reply

